Journey to Green: Week One!

I was new to green not long ago.  Three years to be exact.   I had an allergic reaction to my shampoo/conditioner that made me start looking around for other options.  Since then, I’ve been learning ways to improve my health and my family’s health too.   My oldest son (9) has ADHD and I just found out last year that certain foods affect him differently than other kids without ADHD.  My youngest son (6) has some sensory issues that are aggravated by certain foods as well, but also chemicals in our laundry soap.  Needless to say, I needed to completely revamp my conventional ways of cleaning, cooking, and hygiene for my whole family.  This started me on my quest to become a green mom and a more educated mom.  The more I learned, the more I had to share with my co-workers and friends.  That’s another story, but for now, I want to share with you some things you can do if you are a new green mom.

5 Easy things to start you on your green journey:

 

1. Start recycling if you haven’t already.   Also, put a separate container in your bathroom for toilet paper tubes, shampoo containers, toothpaste boxes, etc.

2. Stop using paper towels.  Instead, go to a resale shop and pick up some dish towels.   They are super cheap and come in lots of different, funky patterns.   You can keep the towels you use for dusting separate from the ones you use to clean your stove.   Just make sure to wash the icky ones by themselves or with a load of grungy clothes. (I have boys, I always have grungy clothes).  Same thing goes for paper napkins. Cloth napkins are the way to go.

3. Speaking of laundry, wash with cold water as much as possible.   Make sure you have a full load, instead of a small load.   Fill that sucker up!   Once a month, you can de-gunk your washer with a white vinegar rinse.   It works great to remove any residue left behind from your icky dish towels, and helps your washer work more efficiently.

4. Ditch the bleach!  Just give it away!  For whiter clothes, use white vinegar in the rinse cycle.  For clean, sparkly dishes use any dishwasher detergent that doesn’t contain bleach.   I personally like Method Smarty Dish Detergent Tabs. They clean great, and don’t leave any weird chemically smells behind.   For clean toilets, baking soda and white vinegar are your friends.   For clean counter tops, white vinegar with water in a spray bottle is the best thing you can use.   Really!

5. Check out this site.   Look for the products you use the most.  You might be surprised by what you find.  Or you may not. =)

Hopefully this list helps you on your journey, it certainly has for me.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. smartgreenmom
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 05:56:10

    Please share what you have tried so far and what works for you and what doesn’t. thx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

